Loyola of Los Angeles Law Review is pleased to publish the third “symposium discussion” series in which leading experts are invited to engage in an evening symposium on a new or emerging area of law. The subject of our second evening symposium was the California Consumer Privacy Act (CCPA), a statute signed into state law by then- Governor Jerry Brown on June 28, 2018 and effective as of January 1, 2020.

As with most new law, there are many unsettled issues, disagreements about the likely impact of the law, and much to be developed as regulations are established and the law is tested in court. To shed some light on the CCPA, the symposium panelists were:

Margot Kaminski – Margot Kaminski is an Associate Professor at the University of Colorado Law School and the Director of the Privacy Initiative at Silicon Flatirons. Prior to joining Colorado, Margot was an Assistant Professor at the Ohio State University Moritz College of Law (2014–2017), and served for three years as the Executive Director of the Information Society Project at Yale Law School. She received her B.A. from Harvard University and her J.D. from Yale.

Jacob Snow – Jacob Snow is a Technology and Civil Liberties Attorney at the ACLU of Northern California, where he works on a variety of issues, including consumer privacy, surveillance, and the preservation of free speech online. Prior to joining the ACLU, Mr. Snow was a staff attorney at the Federal Trade Commission. He holds a B.A. in Physics from the University of California at Berkeley and a J.D. from Georgetown Law.

Felix Wu – Felix Wu is a Professor of Law at Cardozo Law School, Yeshiva University, where he is also Director of the Cardozo Data Law Initiative. Professor Wu’s information law scholarship spans freedom of speech, privacy law, and intellectual property. He received his B.A. in computer science summa cum laude from Harvard and both his J.D. and Ph.D. from the University of California at Berkeley.

And our moderator,

Justin Hughes – Justin Hughes holds the Hon. William Matthew Byrne, Jr. Chair at Loyola Law School, Loyola Marymount University.